Open:Tues. - Sat. 11:00 - 3:30
Last guided tour begins at 3:00
Closed: Major Holidays including Mardi Gras
Directions: Adjacent to Fort Conde Welcome Center in Downtown Mobile
The Conde-Charlotte Museum House, also known as the House of Five Flags, is a fascinating house museum furnished to depict the periods of Mobile's history under five flags. Each room is furnished to reflect a period and a nationality -- French Empire, 18th century English, American Federal, and the Confederate room, which is furnished in the fashion of southern parlors at the outbreak of the Civil War. A walled Spanish garden of late 18th-century design and a kitchen filled with late 19th century equipment complement the house.
The house, built by Jonathan and Elizabeth Kirkbride in 1850, was built on the site of an old jail, which dates back to 1822. A two-foot thick brick floor and doors from the jail remain on the site. Using the house and collections as tools, trained guides offer an overview of the area's history in an interesting 45 minute tour. The variety and authenticity of the furnishings and period antiques make this a charming museum.
Since 1957, the house has been owned, preserved, and operated by The National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Alabama.