San Francisco, CA 94123
Open: Second Sunday, Second and Fourth Thursdays:
Noon to 3:00 p.m
Closed: Legal holidays and the month of January
Directions: From Golden Gate Bridge, go east on Lombard, turn south on Gough. From downtown south, go north on Van Ness, turn west on Union for two blocks. Parking: A public parking garage is 2 1/2 blocks west on the north side of Union.
Octagon House, with a view of the Golden Gate from its cupola, was built only a few years after the Gold Rush. The house was a family residence until the late 1920s, when it was acquired by a utility company. Its purchase by the California Society in 1952, for one dollar, and subsequent restoration in 1953, saved this charming landmark for future generations. Octagonal in shape, the exterior remains essentially in its original condition, while the interior has been extensively modified for use as California Society headquarters and a hospitable setting for social occasions.
The collection of American furnishings includes a Baltimore sideboard and a Salem secretary-desk, both dating from the Federal period, portraits, samplers, silver, pewter, and ceramics. The library emphasizes genealogy and the decorative arts. Of great interest is a remarkable collection of documents bearing signatures of 54 of the 56 Signers of the Declaration of Independence.
Visitors may rest in Octagon House's delightful, award-winning garden.
NATIONAL REGISTER OF HISTORIC PLACES
SAN FRANCISCO LANDMARK NO. 17