Richmond, VA 23226
Open: Year-round, Tuesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4:30 pm; Sunday, 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 pm.
Closed: Major holidays.
Directions: Located on South Wilton Road off the 5300 block of Cary Street. Wilton is at the end of S. Wilton Road on a bluff overlooking the James River.
For more than 100 years, members of the illustrious Randolph family called Wilton home. Built circa 1753 for William Randolph III, Wilton was the centerpiece of a 2,000 acre plantation. It was here that the Randolphs entertained some of colonial Virginia’s most elite such as George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and the Marquis de Lafayette.
After passing from one generation to the next between 1753 and 1859, Wilton was sold to Col. William C. Knight, to pay off a mounting family debt. Wilton went on to survive the Civil War and change owners another 4 times before going into foreclosure during the depth of the Great Depression. In 1932, The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virginia rescued this unique house from falling victim to the wrecking ball. However, the original Wilton property was re-zoned for industry, forcing them to dismantle the house, purchase the land on which Wilton sits today, and rebuilding it there. At the completion of the moving and rebuilding of this historic house, Wilton became the new headquarters for the Virginia Dames.
Today, Wilton continues to serve as an outstanding example of Georgian architecture, headquarters of the Virginia Dames, host to many visitors as well as the site of many public programs, educational exhibits, and endless opportunities for education and growth.